GY type breakout parasitic current draw.

• Right now I'm really banging my head on the wall because I'm lost. I have been using an outdoor sensor unit for the last two years now. The heart is a Moteino on a perfboard carrier. Connected to the Mote are 2 GY boards; a GYBMEP with a Bosch BMP-280 and a GY-49 with a MAX44009 light sensor. The whole device is powered by a 1000mAh LiPo topped up by a small solar panel through a ADA390 solar charger (MCP73871).
    See the picture for a little overview. 0_1545340876187_domotica-011.jpg

My problem is this: when de Mote sleeps, I can't get the current consumption of the sensor boards anywhere NEAR the specced values (0,65uA for the MA44009 and 0,1uA for the BME280). I end up at about 800uA for the sensor boards alone. So first I used software to switch off the power and I2C bus to the sensors, but that does not work because the MAX44009 needs 800ms to take a measurement, and to wait almost a second every time for the sensor to finish feels kind of stupid. So powered continuously it is. Should not be a problem with the specified power consumption. I already had removed the linear regulators for both boards to be able to use lower voltages.
    So next step; remove the resistors and MOSFets that protect the sensor from overvoltage from the GY boards. A bit of a fiddle because teeny tiny, but I think I succeeded. I dit get a lower current draw, about 300uA. But that's still nowhere near the 1,5uA it should be.

Does anybody around here have had the same sort of phantom draw? And has that person found a way around it outside of using the bare sensor chip? I simply can't solder that stuff.