[SOLVED] MQTT gateway based on Arduino Uno - Uno compatible W5100 Ethernet shield - RFM69HW radio

• Hi Folks,

I'm new to MySensors, so before beginning building things, I read the docs, search the forum, etc., to be able to form me an idea how to start.

First taking the docs: https://www.mysensors.org/build/ethernet_gateway and https://www.mysensors.org/build/mqtt_gateway

The MQTT gateway is based on the ethernet gateway, so we are starting there.
    The recommandation is to use a W5100 Ethernet module. This module has problems sharing SPI with the radio, so it is proposed to use soft-spi for the radio.
    The W5100 ethernet shield module is hardware wired:
    0_1556721306433_arduino-ethernet-shield-pinout.png

The radio should then be wired for soft-spi following the docs.
    Because there is no example for a RFM69HW, I imagine that we must follow the same schematic as for the NRF24L01 radio.

The given sketch is based on the use of a NRF24L01 radio, so when searching for the correct settings for RFM69HW in the forum, I stumbled on plenty of topics of people trying to build the same thing.
    Some topics are already several years old, speaking about changing core ethernet libraries for the W5100 to disable the interrupts, others are building on forks of MySensors, forks of RFM69 library, etc.
    I saw also a remark in a topic that for using soft-spi, we should use the new RFM69 driver in the MySensors lib.
    In one of the topics with an own fork, was mentioned that, because the transactions in SPI where now supported in the RFM69 library, we can now wire also the RFM69HW radio to the same ports on the Arduino as the ethernet module.

So, when reading all these topics, I did loose my view on the things 😞 :
    With the current version of the MySensors library (2.3.1)

• Nobody has never build a gateway based on an Arduino Uno, a W5100 shield and a RFM69HW?

So I will answer my own questions 🙂