Controller Recommendation for Middle and High School

• I am new to all of this, having only done some small arduino projects although I have a career in Software Development and a long time ago I studied Mechanical Engineering in school However I am having difficulty selecting a controller.

I have started working with a middle school and a high school. They are both automating their greenhouses and grow beds including aquapoincs. The goal is to help them track environmental properties as well as control lighting and heaters. Each school has slightly different requirements but they both have no money. I am hoping to find 1 system that can work for both. I am looking for any advice anybody is willing to provide.

Using a VERA with an arduino for cheap sensors is a possibility but I would prefer something cheap and openSource. Some things I am looking for:

1. Good community support - The teachers and kids using the system will need lots of tutorials and help online
    2. Ease of use - The teachers and kids will have no confidence when they begin. The ability to quickly add sensors and configure them is a big plus.
    3. Low cost sensors - This is why I am on MySensors! There is no money for a bunch of $30 z-wave sensors.
    4. Flexible setup. The middle school may want to run the controller on a windows machine. The high school will want a complete system so if not a vera probably a raspberry pi.
    5. Historical data and charting as an integral part of the solution or easy to send data to plot.ly or some other online service
    6. Nice web app. When we ask people for donations or apply for grants a nice UI that is accessible by smartphone makes a nice presentation.

I have looked at all the controllers listed on the Mysensors controllers page and only 3 seem like good possibilities:

VERA