Raspberry PI killing memory cards

• Hi,

Yesterday my controller (HA) went down, after some debugging it seems that there is a problem with the memory card. Then I remembered a colleague which had similar issues but with Domoticz. My Raspberry worked for about 1 year without issues. Do you guys have the same problem? I am thinking to switch to a device (for HA) that supports different types of memory (like this or this).

Cheers!

• Mod

• I have no experience with it myself, but apparently, you can boot your RaspberryPi from an SSD if you want to. Considering how cheep they got recently, you might want to give this approach a try. You'll also need a SATA-to-USB3 adapter in this case.

• Mod

@iancu A solution I'm using is log2ram https://github.com/azlux/log2ram
    It writes logfiles to ram instead of SD and only flushes the logfiles to SD e.g. once every day.
    Works like a charm!

• HA should be blind to the storage source your Pi uses, the normal micro-SD is simply a write/write device, though many recommend the industrial versions as more resilient.

MicroSD failures can be due to write fails or power cuts.
    After multiple fails here due to power cuts I found a method where the microSD is used as RO boot which then switches all read/write to a slim laptop external drive. The drive eventually corrupted after multiple power cuts, and a UPS finally solved that bizarre problem permanently. The beauty of that method is you can revert to a full blown micro-SD OS should you require it.
    As @BearWithBeard commented SSD can be used at considerably faster speed/lower energy load, and are very much cheaper nowadays. Read a review recently where a new Pi4 was fitted with a fast SSD giving blistering benchmarks.
    The technique of using the RO boot micro-SD makes it a reversible process.

• @Yveaux for how long do you use it?

• Mod