Please check my pcb design for 24V LED Dimmer

• I just soldered my new pcb for a 24VDC led dimmer. However I can not load a bootloader. I checked the USBASP that I use, it is fully working.

I checked connections, I checked the orientation of the microcontroller. But I fear I just did something completely wrong. This is my first time to use the bare chip.

3631f508-1b97-4f48-a745-3bfa38101e2f-image.png

031c12e7-672d-45b0-a54d-82aaf8668690-image.png

IMG_20200514_235847.jpg IMG_20200514_235928.jpg

• I found one problem. The ground of the atmega was never connected to the rest of the circuit. I solved this nou with a wire, but it has not fixed the problem.

I soldered all the smd parts in a oven. Could this be a problem for some parts?

I tried again. this time I did not connect the voltage converter. I used the power from the USBASP like I succesfully tested on a pro mini.

I used a different brand for the crystal.

Still nothing.

Edit 3:
    16MHz crystal also no use

• Admin

Took a quick look, and one thing I noticed, is that you switched around the names for ftdi / isp pin headers.

That is, you have MISO / MOSI etc. routed to the FTDI header, instead of the ISP header.

• Yes, I noticed now as well.... Annoying but I was looking at the labels of the pins more than everything else.

I found the problem. The bare chips that I have are fake.

I transplanted one from a pro mini and now it works. This took me way to many hours to find out. What a waist of time.

• I had very often issues with programming bare chips if any other connection is on MOSI/MISO or let’s say on the SPI. I would suggest to check your chips on a breadboard on load the boot loader before using them in a circuit. In your case it looks like you connected your 2.4g Radio as well to the ISP which in my cases always interfered with programming. I solved that by using jumpers to isolate the AVR when programming. Hope this helps preventing you from throwing away chips which might work...