Data logging Options

• DISCLAIMER:
    I am exceptionally new to all of this, so forgive any awful questions. I am a mechanical engineer by trade, and this electrical/programming stuff is like magic to me currently! 🙂

Hello, I have ordered parts to begin tinkering with a sensor network, tied to my VeraLite system.

What options do I have for data logging and viewing? It would be really nice to track temperatures/humidity/battery levels (anything really) to a database and read said data in graph form.

I know the data can be sent to my VeraLite, and I currently have "datamine" installed on my vera which is tracking and graphing my thermostat temperatures and set points, but the program leaves a lot to be desired in graph presentation... Are there Vera alternatives I have not found, or perhaps any way to send the data to a PC or something instead? I have a home server which is always on and could serve as a repository for the data..

Any help/suggestions appreciated, thanks.

• Admin

This post is deleted!

• Admin

@NotYetRated

MySensors will offer a cloud storage for sensor data. But it is still a bit unclear it you will need to assemble a separate Raspberry gateway/controller to have this functionality of if the Vera has the horsepower to handle encryption of the data when its sent to the cloud.

• ooooo that would be pretty cool! Thanks for the info, sorry if I missed it somewhere.

• @hek
    How about providing the sensor data with SNMP to local LAN so that e.g. Cacti server could be used for the graphing (and Nagios for monitoring and alerting)?

• Admin

@samppa said:

I would probably use MQTT or for this type of pub/sub functionality on the local network.

SNMP/Nagios has never crossed my mind. Hmm.. Isn't that more adopted for monitoring server infrastructure?

• MQTT would indeed be a good solution for this.
    Together with Node JS, raspi, mysql, ngnix....