Complete Beginner with MySensors - questions about relays, MQTT and OpenHAB

• Hey guys,

I'm from germany and started one year ago to automate my house with OpenHAB. One focus I set was to get everything done as cheap as possible.
    Currently I have the following things (among others) connected through OpenHAB on a Raspberry Pi:

• Ambilight
    • XBMC (Kodi)
    • 433Mhz Wall sockets
    • 433Mhz Garage Door "Hack" (old remote control + relay connected to RPi)
    • 868Mhz temperature/ humidity sensors
    • radiator thermostats
    • (RGB) LED Strips
    • Homeserver (WOL)
    • PC (WOL)

But now I discovered MySensors and this website seems to be what I have looking for lately! Not only are there nice tutorials, the smart home solutions presented here are also very cheap to realize).
    Especially I want to get rid of 433Mhz connections, because they are unreliable and don't work everytime (more than that, I even can't switch on multiple 433Mhz Wall sockets at the same time)

I just ordered some Arduino Pro Minis, Motion sensors and relays, so here is my question:

Let's say I want to hook up a LED Strip to a relay and control this relay by radio with OpenHAB.
    Then I would need to:

1. Hook up the relay to an Arduino with connected NRF24L01+ 2.4GHz Wireless Transceiver
    2. Build an MQTT gateway with another arduino
    3. Use this tutorial to connect it to my OpenHAB Server --------> Can OpenHAB only display the status values or can it actively send commands to the MQTT gateway? (sending commands would be necessary if I want to control the relay through OpenHAB)

Is this correct?

Thank you 🙂

• @HenryWhite said:

Can OpenHAB only display the status values or can it actively send commands to the MQTT gateway?

Yes, you can send commands via MQTT. Have a look at the OpenHab MQTT binding doc. https://github.com/openhab/openhab/wiki/MQTT-Binding