Getting started, where to begin?

Hi guys,

I'm just getting started with building my own sensors and buttons using arduino. I have standardised on the RFM96HW radio connected either to a moteino or an anarduino. On the server side I am running OpenHAB on a Linux computer.

My plan is to take one Arduino and connected to my server to create a serial interface. I intend to write a simple server in Python which reads the serial interface and pushes messages to an mqtt broker.

I have been looking into radio libraries, and I recently found RadioHead http://www.airspayce.com/mikem/arduino/RadioHead/index.html which seems to do the job nicely for any radio I might want to use.

My first applications will be a light switch based on a simple distance sensor which will allow me to wave my hand in front of the sensor to toggle the lights. I'm also planning a simple doorbell/door sensor combination which will be integrated with OpenHAB to grab an image from a web camera and send an email with the attached image to the owners of the house whenever the doorbell is run or the door is opened (at least when they are away).

My question is, does it make sense for me to use the library provided by mysensors, or am I better off just writing something myself directly against the radio library? I do not require much functionality to begin with since I will only be reading from the devices, but eventually I would want to write two devices as well by having the Python server subscribe to messages from the broker and relay these through radio.

Is it perhaps easiest just to modify the link layer (i.e. radio library) for your library to support the RadioHead library? I suspect this shouldn't be too difficult, and maybe it will help others as well?

Let me know what you think 🙂

• Admin

DistanceSensor light switch sounds like a fun project.

It would require quite a surgery to get the RadioHead library in. The question is which part you want to keep of MySensors?