OpenHAB setup

• As a disclaimer, I'm not a programmer by any means, but I'm learning. I have OpenHAB setup and working and haven't touched the setup in about a year. I'm using MySensors with two sensor nodes currently. They are both powered (not battery) and only capturing temp and humidity values and sending to my serial gateway via NF radios.

Hardware is currently RPi and Arduino UNO GW, and Nano sensors. I would like to expand my setup and include some additional sensors. I'd like advice on moving forward.

1. I had problems getting the sensors working initially. I had to set the Node ID's manually, which I believe is a limitation of OpenHAB. I also could not for the life of me get the measurement units to work in °F. I had to somehow manually set each node to send in °F as opposed to °C. I would like to have this work correctly if possible from the get-go.

2. I would like to battery power my arduino sensors. I plan to replace my current hardware with Arduino Pro Mini 3v (8MHz) with the low power mods done. The gateway will likely be run on a Nano instead of the UNO. My current goal is to have four types of sensors: (1) Temp/Humidity, (2) Servo - Blinds, (3) Door, (4) Light Level. I hope to have these all be able to run for an extended period of time on battery power only. The servo for blinds will probably be the most difficult to do this, however I have some ideas.

3. I would also like to be able to integrate other wireless technologies. I currently have an Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 for Z-Wave devices (although I don't have any Z-Wave devices to test/use currently), and I have my eyes on a couple Zigbee devices that I would like to be able to incorporate. What is the best way to do this?

Any advice on how to move forward would be appreciated. It looks like there isn't a whole lot of activity in this forum, but many people who are using OpenHAB with MySensors. I'd love to get feedback before re-inventing something that is already done.