INA219 DC Current Sensor

• I am new to the MySensors.org community but I have been having a blast building all types of wireless sensors since a first discovered this site a few weeks ago and would love be be able to contribute to this community!

The INA219 Current Sensor Breakout Board by Adafruit is a great little sensor for measuring current and voltages, up to 3.2 amps and 26 volts quite accurately! https://www.adafruit.com/products/904. It uses i2c to send its data and there is a nice library to go along with it. With a simple modification you can change the shunt resistor out to lower values measure higher currents or in my case I remove it completely so I can measure the current across a 500 amp shunt. Im using this sensor to monitor my camping trailer's battery voltage and current draw while it is parked. I also use it to monitor my auxiliary battery backup system that keeps my security camera server and wifi router running in case of a power failure. Ive been using an arduino web server running ajax script so I can monitor my battery systems remotely in real time.

It is most important for me to monitor my trailer batteries since I have spent hundreds of dollars on AGM batteries and would like to be alerted if for some reason the breaker to the trickle charger tripped or the charger malfunctioned and something was left on in the trailer that could draw the batteries down to dead! AGM batteries can only go dead just a few time before there no good.