Breakout Board for ESP-12F

• Hello!
    I work for a Swedish electronics reseller and we've started selling ESP-12F, however we want to be able to provide a breakout board for it.
    There are some ESP breakouts available online, however most of them lack the extra pinouts which the ESP-12F (and possibly some earlier version) has. Is anyone on this forum able/interested in helping us make a breakout board?
    It can of course be made open-source and uploaded to OpenHardware 🙂

Specifications:

• Pitch from 2 mm to 2.54 mm (
    • Buttons for RESET and Flash (GPIO0)
    • 3.3V Regulator or capacitor?
    • 10K resistor between CHPD-VCC and GPIO2-GND
    • Maybe FTDI pinout?
    • Other optional pins? Battery JST-plug?

If no one is interested, then at the very least maybe we can start a discussion as to what the optimal breakout board would be 😉

• Hardware Contributor

@jolny : Hi. I can't tell I'm an expert, but I have designed sort of tft shields of esp-12F. I'm curious, for what do you need the extra pins? I thought these was not useful or was internal used...maybe I'm wrong?
    Maybe you won't like it as it is minimal, but it's small, the wemos D1mini.

• @scalz said:

wemos D1mini

Thanks for the tip! We'll look into it. 🙂
    As for the extra pins, it appears as though there are two GPIOs (9/10) and SPI pins (SCLK, MISO, MOSI) so I guess it depends on the application whether they're useful 🙂
    I also found this board which looks nice: http://www.electrodragon.com/product/esp8266-smd-adapter-board/#prettyPhoto
    What I miss is perhaps FTDI. I like the fact that the Wemos has a USB port though, maybe that is better than FTDI? It's definitively more accessible, what do you think?

BTW, while I'm at it, I saw this: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/214379695/micropython-on-the-esp8266-beautifully-easy-iot
    This module is amazing.

• Hardware Contributor