ESP8266 WiFi settings in EEPROM

• Hi!

Is there a way to use WiFi SSID/password/etc. stored in EEPROM?
    As I can see all WiFi initialization hidden from "end-user".

I want to read config from EEPROM or filesystem and use some web-based (re-)configuration (as example https://github.com/tzapu/WiFiManager) but can't because WiFi stack initialized internally with defines.

BTW, while general wifi settings can be re-defined to local variables, MQTT Client Gateway uses "inplace" string join so can not be compiled with variables.

• Admin

If you have some idea how to solve it, please submit a PR.

• @hek This is my first try with MySensors, so just thinking of loud:

One way: Globally redesign internal initialization sequence and add extra EEPROM arguments. Also provide function to write new SSID/password to EEPROM and reboot. Read SSID/IP/password/etc from config in TransportXXX

Another way: Be more Arduin-ish. All standard Arduino classes have function begin or/and class initializer. So I want to call for example mySensors.begin() for basic init, and some kind of mySensorsTransportXXXBegin(ssid, password, ip, topic, etc) for specific transport init. As an option should be flag like "already connected" or "do not reconnect" for WiFi

As for me, the second way is preferred. If I decide to make my next sensor on MySensors instead of "pure" C/Arduino, I'll refactor at least MyMainESP8266.c:loop_wrapper by removing setup call and adding separate public _begin() alternative

• Mod

@Alexander-Voronin I recently found out that the ESP will always store the last access point & password it connected to in flash anyway, so just connecting once with new settings should be sufficient (does however need modifications to MySensors library to not pass this stuff on connect)
    Maybe the same holds for IP address etc.

• @Yveaux This is slightly not my case. The ESP stores only SSID/Password, but I want to store extra config for at least MQTT broker.