ATtiny supported?

• I would like to use small 8pin AVRs for nodes with only one sensor (like temp).
    Is ATtinys supported?

I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm new to the Arduino and AVR world.

• Admin

• Mod

@Rasmus-Eneman IMHO there's nothing in the library that would prevent it from running on an ATTiny, but you might (will?) probably have troubles fitting everything in the available flash/ram.
    Connecting the nRF24 radio might also be troublesome as the ATTiny really has too little pins. I saw an article where somebody combined CE/CSN pins but this required some external components and modifications to the nRF24 library.
    ATTiny is also not supported by Arduino and can only be added by using third party software.
    I doubt if all is worth the trouble really...

• Mod

@hek Ah, just beat me 👊

• Admin

@Yveaux

Yiha!

• I actually saw some Arduino projects on ATtiny, however I didn't thought of the IO problem.
    Guess I will have to kill that idea.

Thanks both of you for the fast response 🙂

@Rasmus-Eneman

You can find a lot of guides on the web about using the Arduino environment for the ATTiny series.

The TMRH2o nRF library is supposed to support ATTiny, but may not have been tested.

You already know that pins are going to be very tight, but if you have a one-pin sensor which doesn't need much code...

It might be possible to fit the sensor code (for some sensors) and the MySensors libraries, but if so it would be tight.

One tip: avoid any floating point code (some node sketches use it and some do not).

I'd actually love to see somebody make a MySensors node on an ATTiny.

• Mod

I have looked into this too but decided against it.
    Mainly for 2 reasons:

1. A board stacked onto your own pcb would make that you can keep the width and length of your pcb small. Imho adding your own microcontroller etc. to your own pcb would make it larger. Unless I am mistaken.