Smart Light Switch 220v

• Hardware Contributor

Hopping to contribute to the community and your opinions on the board and improvement opportunities!

• Hardware Contributor

I added a FTDI connector for easy programming of the ATMEGA328

• Hardware Contributor

Nice project ๐Ÿ™‚
    In case..have you checked clearance/creepage? A small article here if you want:
    http://blog.optimumdesign.com/clearance-and-creepage-rules-for-pcb-assembly

• Hardware Contributor

Hi @scalz ! This is my firs project of this magnitude, I'm still learning! My main focus was to make the 220v the safest possible! So I used a calculator to get me the clearance value, and then applied some extra! Another focus was the width of the traces! This is my values:

Clerance / Trace Width (values in mm)

Signal: 0.2 / 0.5
    AC Power: 1.2 / 2
    AC Power on Relay: 1.2 / 3.5
    DC Power: 0.2 / 1

What do you guys think? I was looking at the table and it seems good!

My board will be printed at 1,6mm! Do you think that this will be safe to use with the AC current? I have to insure that the traces will handle the max of the relay, this is 2A!

I also raised the width of the pads on the Relays and connections to the relays to grant me a better connections! They are 3mm width!

Best Regards
    Soloam

• Hardware Contributor

@soloam : I forgot that it's 2A! I was thinking about more amps and looking to your enlarged pads on bottom. So if you have checked, should be ok, cool.

I'm not a big fan of radio too near of AC lines. seems you have nrf antenna just above Hilink main, hope for not too much EMI and decreased range, but maybe that will work well. I would have placed your fuses near AC connector. And for instance, to have most of AC part on one side, and other DC and radio on opposite side when possible. Easy to say!

See you soon and good luck ๐Ÿ˜‰

• Hardware Contributor

@Soloam - Great project, nice! Im also learning so im no expert but i though about the trace going from "AC 220 In"