Can't get started

• I am trying to get started with building the Mysensors Ethernet Gateway (Arduino Uno with W5100 shield). Whatever I try I do not get it to work due to zillions of compilation errors (files not found, etc.). Would it be possible to create a very simple step by step "build Ethernet gateway" including EXACT instructions which libraries to use and where to put them i.e. :

STEP 1 : Download this and that file and put them in : "C:\PROGRAM FILES\ARDUINO\LIBRARIES"
    STEP 2: Download sketch this and that and put them in folder blablabla.
    ETC.

Obviously the current instruction video's don't work. It is not that I am completely new to programming but all the contradictions dazzle me a bit.

Thanks in advance!

• Mod

Hi @LarsMachiels, welcome to the MySensors community!

Most video tutorials are for MySensors 1.x. MySensors 2 was released during the summer. All video and documentation is created by people like you and me, so the pace and quality is limited by how much time people like you and me are prepared to spend. That's why there aren't as many videos for MySensors 2.0 yet.

Instructions for installing the library is available at https://www.mysensors.org/download/
    You can still install MySensors 1.5 and use the video tutorials, if your top priority is to get something working and you prefer to get started by watching video tutorials.

MySensors 2.0 has several new features (see https://forum.mysensors.org/topic/4261/mysensors-2-0-0-released ) and going from MySensors 1.5 to 2 will require some changes, so if you want to learn the latest stuff from the start you should go with version 2. Version 2 is installed from the Arduino IDE using the Library Manager, which will put all files in the correct places automatically. You can then open the included example for the w5100 ethernet gateway and compile it.

Hi @LarsMachiels