Choosing the right Controller

• Hi there, im fairly new to all this and have been reading through the forum for the last few weeks. I'm expecting a RPi in the mail any week now, but i'm still not sure which controller I should go with. Should i choose PiDome or Domoticz?? Or DomotiGa?? I'd like to be able to have a good mobile interface on my Android (Samsung S7) phone, and i'm on a farm (4 hectares or 10 acres) so I'm hoping to be able to have sensors and actuators all over the property so need to be able to have fairly good range. Any tips / advice in terms of choosing the controller would be great. Also if you choose a controller and then decide you don't like it how hard is it to change later on?? Thanks!

• Hardware Contributor

@breimann - Hi and Welcome!

Its a hard question. The range isnt dependent on the controller but on the radio you choose. You should look at those things you talk about. Myself i use Domoticz and im happy with the mobile interface. Cant say anything about the others.

hard is it to change later on

Its the same amount of work as you will have when you install your first controller. What will happen is that you loose all your data you gathered.

• @sundberg84 Thank-you this is helpful info. Much appreciated.

• What controller have you decided to use?
    I'm also deciding which controller to choose. I'm using Mysensors v2.
    Does PiDome/Domoticz/Openhab work with MySensors v2? Or should I use MySensors v1.5?