Doorbell detection

• Hi,
    I have been searching for a solution to detect my doorbell and push actions (like pause Kodi, send notification to my phone etc)
    To give a brief background, I live in a rented apartment and my doorbell is AC powered. There is internal wiring and I cannot bypass it and use an arduino input to the pushbutton.
    What could work in my favour is that the doorbell has a LED which turns on for the duration of the chime. (there are two chimes for one push of the button and two long flashes of LED)
    I have a fair idea of what could work - use a LDR to detect the LED blink or flash and send the output to Domoticz as a trigger, which then could be used to carry out other actions.
    By now, you would have figured out that if this guy cannot work out this simple task, he must be a total noob; you got that right.

I have seen several doorbell posts and most require tinkering with the existing connections and in my case I want to use the flashing LED (about 3 seconds On with a break of 1.5 second and then 3 seconds on for every push of button).

How should I go about this. As I mentioned, I live in a rented apartment and I cannot mess with the existing setup without risking loosing my security deposit.

Please guide. Thanks

• Mod

@Puneit-Thukral the pulse power meter example should have most of what you need to read the LED. Study that and the button example and I think you'll be able to take at least one or two steps forward.

Just ask again if you get stuck 🙂

• Thanks @mfalkvidd for your quick response. I get a sense how pulse power meter example will be useful. The sketch is too complex for me to understand. Correct me if I am wrong, that the pulse powermeter sketch is an overkill for my application. Will be asking for too much, if you could guide me on how to adapt the sketch .
    Thanks.

• Mod

@Puneit-Thukral something like this should be sufficient

// Enable debug prints
    #define MY_DEBUG