lowest cost node

• yes im a noob. I have a couple questions. do all the nodes have to have there own board like a nano or uno? if so can one be made cheeper using a chip? I would like to build a network with a couple hundred nodes that have 2 inputs and one output. input1=temp input2=switch output=relay. what would be the cheeps way to build a wireless node? as u can see cost of a couple hundered would add up quick. is 10-20$ doable? thank u all. love the site so far. l'm pretty new to all of this but finding the iot is quickly becoming my new number one hobby.
    oh also do I need a gateway using a uno r3?

• @jayjaytocool forgot to mention I have 10 nf24l01 2 uno r3 and one raspberry pi 3 as well as a uno r3 most complete starter kit to work with. hope u guys don't mind giving me a little kick start

• Hardware Contributor

Hello,

yes it's possible to work with an atmega328 chip only without the arduino board. But then you need to put external components to make it work so you assembly time will rise.
    Lowest price is 1.2$ atmega328 + 1$ nrf24 + 1$ PCB + 0.5$ extra components and I would add 1$ for atsha signing component (to sign messages and avoid hacking of your network).
    That's less than 5$ for a "base" node.
    The rest depend on the type of node you want to implement: from main power or on battery and then what battery life do you expect, what precision you expect from temperature sensor, what load you want to control with the relay etc etc

• Mod

Are you trying to automate an hotel? With a network that large you will need to use a lot of transmission error checking in the code unless you are going to segment it in smaller network.

• Mod

Cost can be affected a lot by how you value your time. If your time is endless and free, you could learn how to design and build custom nodes quite cheaply.