Controller Calibration of sensors

• This may well have already been talked about but if it has I couldn't find it so thought I'd ask

I am aiming to create a multisensor to place in all rooms in my house. As I'm very new to the arduino I thought it would be easier to get one working then just clone it. So I made a sensor with relays, motion, and temp/humidity (DHT11).

The problem was that the DHT11s had varying accuracy/calibration and e.g. if I put two nodes in the same room they would report wildly different temps. Rather than hard coding the calibration I added a dummy dimmer switch sensor then used the recieved value (a value between 0 and 100%) to adjust the value that the DHT11 was reporting.

This is the code I made (probably very inefficient but it works)

int TempOffset = 50; // initial offset is zero when first loaded

//Now divides temp offset by 10 & subtracts 5.  
    //then e.g. 10% received from domoticz gives a temp offset of -4 degrees.  
    //Allows dht offset to be +/- 5 degrees
    float ActualTempOffset = (TempOffset/10)-5;

MyMessage msgTempOffset(CHILD_ID_TEMP_OFFSET, V_PERCENTAGE);

void presentation
    {
     ...other sensors here
    present(CHILD_ID_TEMP_OFFSET, S_DIMMER);
    }
    void receive(const MyMessage &message)
    {
    	... relay stuff here
    	}
        else if (message.type==V_PERCENTAGE)  {
        int TempOffset = atoi(message.data);
        ActualTempOffset = (TempOffset/10)-5;
        Serial.print("New Temp Offset: ");
        Serial.println(ActualTempOffset);

}  

}

One thing that I would like it to do is to save the calibration state in EEPROM and report it Domoticz on boot to save calibrating each time.

Can anyone help?

• Mod

@Ben-Andrewes you can probably look at how the relay example handles state. It does not report to the controller on startup but to do that you just invoke the send function at the end of setup(). It is also possible to request the last known value from the controller if you prefer that.