Secure gateway with sms receiver: stability?

• Plugin Developer

So I was trying to see if I could cram both a secure gateway and an SMS receiving option into an Arduino Nano.

By secure I mean using the awesome MY_SIGNING_SIMPLE_PASSWD option.

First I used the Fona library, but even after some fiddling that used too much memory (108%).

Then I explored hand-making a minimal SMS receiver, and managed to get it down to 89% of memory use. But that gives a warning that there is very little memory left.

• is that a big stability problem? Or does MySensors reserve the memory it needs?
    • Using the antenna version of NRF24 and a 800L GSM module... might that be too much power draw for the arduino? Is this another foresee-able stability issue?
    • below is my code. I am a pretty bad programmer. Can you spot any optimisation chances?
    /**
    * The MySensors Arduino library handles the wireless radio link and protocol
    * between your home built sensors/actuators and HA controller of choice.
    * The sensors forms a self healing radio network with optional repeaters. Each
    * repeater and gateway builds a routing tables in EEPROM which keeps track of the
    * network topology allowing messages to be routed to nodes.
    * Created by Henrik Ekblad <henrik.ekblad@mysensors.org>
    * Copyright (C) 2013-2015 Sensnology AB
    * Full contributor list: https://github.com/mysensors/Arduino/graphs/contributors
    * Documentation: http://www.mysensors.org
    * Support Forum: http://forum.mysensors.org
    * This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or
    * modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License
    * version 2 as published by the Free Software Foundation.
    * DESCRIPTION
    * The ArduinoGateway prints data received from sensors on the serial link.
    * The gateway accepts input on seral which will be sent out on radio network.
    * The GW code is designed for Arduino Nano 328p / 16MHz
    */