How to build up a sensor network

• Hello Everybody here at the Mysensors forum.

I am new to MySensors, but I would like to do a lot with it, to start sprinkling my garden, the hardware I have now installed in general (humidity sensors, water valves, level floats, DS18B20 sensors and so on)

Now I am now about to tie up some software, after some searching and consulting with an ICT colleague I came to Domoticz in combination with MySensors (do not know yet if this is the right solution)

the location of my garden irrigation I split into two parts, a central point where, among other things, the rain well (with pump, floats, part of the valves), and a point around a border.

For the central part I was thinking to apply an Arduino Mega to read the sensors (analogue and digital) and to control valves (via relays), I'm going to build this together in a steel Rittal cabinet.
    The point around the border I have an Arduino Uno on the eye (I have already built together), here come 4 valves (via relay), four humidity sensors (analogue in) and two DS18B20 temperature sensors.

For the communication to the Domoticz controller (Raspberry Pi) I was initially thinking to use the two arduinos as Ethernet Gateway (without RF) with the actuators and the sensors processed.
    The cabling is already present between all points (ethernet and shielded signal cable).

However, when experimenting with the uno (I started with the smallest) I managed to control the four relays from domoticz, but I did not manage to read the sensors, on this forum I read older post's that it probably will not automatically work to process sensors in a gateway, is that still the case with the current version of the library?

Now, however, I am thinking what would be the best solution in my situation, make a separate gateway (outside?) And then make the arduino node's connection via RF, or it is still possible to use the gateway's together with actuators. and sensors?