RFM69HW RSSI / range problems

• Hey!

I'm new to MySensors, and very hapy that this open project exist.
    Unfortunately, I have problems with RMF69HW 433MHz modules (ebay), however from all threads I have read I'm not alone.

CSMA routine seems does not work as expected, every single packet it fails and runs out to timeout.
    I'm usually getting RSSI values in CSMA routine between -80 to -90.
    short example:
    1818842 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-83
    1818846 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-83
    1818849 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-87
    1818853 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-87
    1818856 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-88
    1818860 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-84
    1818864 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-85
    1818867 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-88
    1818871 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-87
    1818874 RFM69:CSMA:RSSI=-86

But CSMA has predefined "silence" value as -95 in file RFM69_new.h
    #define MY_RFM69_CSMA_LIMIT_DBM (-95)

From all my tries it looks like PowerAmplifier (PA) is all time turned on and makes noise for the RX.
    Range of my modules is low, usually one wall is too much to communicate. Only inside of one room they work well.
    I'm not using any other 433MHz technology in the house which could posiibly make that high RSSI values.

I'm using example scatches from MySensors with this custom predefinitions:
    #define MY_RADIO_RFM69
    #define MY_IS_RFM69HW
    #define MY_RFM69_FREQUENCY (RFM69_433MHZ)
    #define MY_RFM69_NEW_DRIVER
    #define MY_DEBUG_VERBOSE_RFM69

I have tamporarily increased MY_RFM69_CSMA_LIMIT_DBM limit to -70, however this is not solution of problem, just surpessing of symptom..

Can somebody local, with good working RFM69HW module confirm, that his values of RSSI in CSMA routine are usually below -95?

• @dell640 said in RFM69HW RSSI / range problems:

Can somebody local, with good working RFM69HW module confirm, that his values of RSSI in CSMA routine are usually below -95?