[SOLVED] Radio init failed

• Hi,

I am very new with Arduino and I am doing my first project regarding this. I have build an ethernet gateway based on an Arduino Uno and I use the NRF2401+ Radio device. When I connect the Uno to my laptop; everything seems to be OK. I am using it from Domoticz and i don't see any issues (yet) on my Ethernet Gateway, I can succesfully access it.

Now for the sensors; I have a Arduino Nano (AtMega328) and I want to make lightlux sensor. Now; I have connected the Radio device and i get an error message (using the serial monitor) that says "Radio init Failed" after I upload the sketch. I have reconnected and checked the wiring multiple times, also I have used several different radio's, but the problem remains.
    I am still in a lab setup. Unfortunately i don't have a decoupling capacitor for 5v to 3.3v; therefor, as a test, I took the 3.3 power of the Uno (which has 3.3v) and used that to feed the radio. I think as a test this should work, but any help is appreciated? Where can I look next?

Thanks!

• Hardware Contributor

You are on the right track.
    Radio init fail means 1) Not wired correctly 2) Not powered correctly 3) Not a nrf24 with +
    Do you have a capacitor between grn/vcc on the 3.3v radio? This can make difference...

The nano should also have 3.3v just as the uno i think.

Some reading regarding + and not + Nrf modules.
    http://forum.mysensors.org/topic/1153/we-are-mostly-using-fake-nrf24l01-s-but-worse-fakes-are-emerging/4
    http://forum.mysensors.org/topic/1664/which-are-the-best-nrf24l01-modules/2

• Thanks for the quick reply. I am not sure if the nano has 3.3 v. See link:
    https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardNano
    I do see a 3v3 connection; Is this the 3.3 volt connection?

But to answer you're question:

1. Could be; but I have checked it several times and recreated everything on my switchboard.