How can I measure/track current pulses from machines?

• Hello everyone,

for a student's project, I have to find a way to track current impulses from a machine, so that I can record the times that impulses were triggered in a given time (e.g. per hour). Unfortunately I am no electrical engineer and therefore struggle with the hardware side, which is why I came to you guys after searching the Internet (which is pretty difficult if you do not really know the terms to search for 😰 ).

What I have though so far: Using a relay module, connecting the "machine" to the Arduino with the relay in between and logging the impulses with the binary sensor. Does that make any sense to you?

The analysis part including Grafana and influxDB is easy peasy, but I have to get that far in the first place.

I would really appreciate your help with this as it really is frustrating. 😥

So far, I managed to do everything I wanted with mysensors and help I found here, but this time I am overstrained...

Thanks in advance,

MaKin

• Mod

@MaKin have you looked at https://www.mysensors.org/build/pulse_power ? Not that I want to ruin your learning experience at school, but it sounds pretty similar to that example.

• Mod

You could use node-red to route data to any database if you like.

• @mfalkvidd said in How can I measure/track current pulses from machines?:

@MaKin have you looked at https://www.mysensors.org/build/pulse_power ? Not that I want to ruin your learning experience at school, but it sounds pretty similar to that example.

You're absolutely not. Thanks a lot. But am I right to use a relay instead of the light sensor? Because in mysensors relays are (obviously) used as actuators.

• @gohan said in How can I measure/track current pulses from machines?:

You could use node-red to route data to any database if you like.

Thanks for the info. I already had a look at node-red but so far, I am satisfied with the myController interface for influxDB. 🙂

• Mod