Node doesn’t seem to reconnect

• I have a 2 relay node in my master bedroom running 2.3.2. Gateway is pi gateway running the same version. Node is built with the easy/newbie board. It’s a decent distance away from the gateway, periodically something happen and I guess it stops being able to communicate. But oddly enough, it never seems to try to reconnect. I thought the built in watchdog should get it to go back to find parent or something.

If I unplug the module and plug back in, reconnect, all is well.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice for getting nodes to retry to connect to gateway better. I feel I’m missing something simple in the stability aspect here.

• @CrankyCoder This could have several reasons...
    To debug this, you should activate the mysensors debug statement. Let the node run and at the moment you see no connection anymore, connect a laptop/computer to the node via the serial connection and see what the node is doing.
    It could be that the node is frozen.
    You are talking about a 2 relay node. How this relay board is connected to the newbie board? A selfmade relay board or a bought one? What are you switching with these relays? External systems can have an 'electronic' influence on the arduino causing a malfunction...

• I would need to leave something connected all the time wouldn't I? Hooking laptop to the arduino would cause the reset?

The relay module is a purchased 2 relay board for the arduino, 5v logic.