GatewayESP32MQTT with local sensor crashes

• Hi, all.

I'm not a programmer and new to MySensors, so my problem may be something silly.

My plan is to, eventually, get a network of, mostly, temperature nodes using some Rigado BMD-300 modules (nRF52832-based) with an ESP32 (Wemos Lolin32 / NRF24) running as a MQTT gateway.

I'm starting with trying to get the gateway up and running, with a local BME280 sensor. I've used GatewayESP32MQTTClient as a starting point and added code from the MySensors BME280 sketch. The sketch was using a library which seems to not be available in PlatformIO, so I've modified it to use Adafruit_BME280 library (modified with code from Sparkfun to get isMeasuring).

My modifications to the BME280 library look like this
    Adafruit_BME280.h

bool isMeasuring(void);

Adafruit_BME280.cpp

bool Adafruit_BME280::isMeasuring(void)	{
      uint8_t stat = read8(0xF3);
      return(stat & (1<<3));	//If measuring bit (3) is set, return true
    }

When the gateway code and the BME280 code are combined, the gateway runs fine until a minute has passed and it want to do a sampling from the local sensor. It then crashes and reboots when it wants to set the parameters for the BME280, with the message "Guru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed (LoadProhibited). Exception was unhandled."

The code which caused the crash is

bme.setSampling(Adafruit_BME280::MODE_NORMAL,       //normal mode
                        Adafruit_BME280::SAMPLING_X8,       //temperature x8
                        Adafruit_BME280::SAMPLING_X16,      //pressure x16
                        Adafruit_BME280::SAMPLING_X8,       //humidity x8
                        Adafruit_BME280::FILTER_OFF,        //IIR Filter coefficient
                        Adafruit_BME280::STANDBY_MS_0_5);   //tsb = 0.5ms