Controlling existing relays

• Hi,

First of, I'm really new to both home automation and arduino, but really excited about the possibilities. So please be gentle! 🙂 So far I've ordered a bunch of arduino boards, sensors and misc stuff based on a few of the helpful examples listed here to get me started. I really think MySensors.org is a great way to get into home automation if you like to build stuff like I do!

My technical knowledge however is more on the programming side so I'll start of with a hardware question and see how far my (unfortunately somewhat rusty) programming skills take me after that. 🙂

In my house built in the early 90's I've got these kind of momentary/pulse (I think) buttons in every room controlling most of the lighting in the house:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/lfbg7c3pqilnhek/WP_20150420_19_40_43_Pro.jpg?dl=0

When I press one of the buttons in any room a corresponding relay in my main electrical cabinet switches on or off, thus turning the light in the room on or off. The relays look like this:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/sux7bujrr4ae1qd/WP_20150420_08_03_25_Pro.jpg?dl=0

My question is; what hardware would I need in addition to an Arduino Nano to control each of these relays, and how should I wire it to the existing relays? Or would I need to replace the relays completely?

To add another layer of complexity, would it be possible to add a dimmer to some of the relays in order to be able to dim the lights in certain rooms?

Thanks in advance the help!

@twosh, your relays are 24V driven, so Arduino can't control them directly. You need a separated 5V/3.3V power to feed the Arduino/radio, and a circuit between Arduino output and relay.

Maybe you can start from here http://www.electroschematics.com/8975/arduino-control-relay/

Make sure you connect the GND from Arduino power supply also to the GND of your existing relay panel.