Ethernet Gateway connection to Raspberry Pi

• I'm new to this and have constructed an Ethernet Gateway with Arduino UNO and Nrf24+ and an Ethernet shield.. The sketch loads and the serial port shows no errors however it fails to get an IP address and then shows DHCP failure. I've tried a different cable, different Raspberry Pi, etc. but no matter what I get the same problem. I have tested the shield by loading the arduino printer sketch from the examples page and it works. It simply can't get an address via the Pi. I'm running Domoticz as the controller.
    Any pointers gratefully appreciated.
    David

• Mod

Welcome to the MySensors community @urbanus!
    How are the ethernet sield and the raspberry pi connected?
    What other devices are on the network?
    Do you have a router as dhcp server? Can other devices get an ip address from it?
    Could you post the debug output from the gateway?
    Did you #define MY_MAC_ADDRESS to the mac address printed on the ethernet module?

• Hi and thank you for the warm welcome and quick response.
    The ethernet shield piggybacks on to the Arduino and connects to the Pi by a standard RJ45 cable.
    Its my home wifi fed by a Virgin Superb. No sensors etc. connected on the network yet.
    The router issues DHCP commands as if I connect the ethernet shield direct to my laptop and load an example sketch it is issued an IP address without issue.
    Cannot seem to copy the debug code from the gateway serial output so I will have to type it in.
    I set the mac address based on the output I got from the example sketch serial output.

Many thanks

• Mod

@urbanus hreat info, thanks! Seem you got the mac address right. It can be easily forgotten so I wanted to check 🙂

Just so I understand this right: when you load the example print sketch, the ethernet shield is connected to your laptop and gets an ip address?
    What happens if you load the example print sketch and connect the ethernet shield to the raspberry pi?