What does a newbie need to integrate sensors with OpenHab?

• Hi all,

I am new to MySensors and have been reading thru the website for several days trying to figure out what is actually needed to get the sensors working with OpenHab. I see many references to different types of gateways (serial, ethernet, etc), the use of MQTT, and the reference to several bindings.

I guess the basic question is: what is actually needed to integrate sensors with OpenHab?

My current setup consists of a Raspberry Pi 3 running the openHABian image from OpenHab. I would like to continue using this setup, and was thinking about connecting the radio (NRF24) directly to the Pi so I wouldn't need another gateway (ESP8266, Ethernet, etc). It is my understanding that the openHABian image already includes MQTT, and has an MQTT binding built in.

So, would I need any other type of gateway interface? Can't the Pi just keep the received messages internally and route them to/from the local MQTT broker?

Why is there an OpenHab MySensors binding? Is this needed to translate the MySensors message protocol into something that OpenHab can understand?

I have tried to find tutorials regarding this type of setup online, but without success. (Some try, but assume too much knowledge to truly be a tutorial.)

I would appreciate any information that would help clarify the OpenHab/MySensors interface.

Thank you!

• Since you attached a nrf24 directly to your pi, I presume you have all your sensors connected eith nrf24 as well.
    You could use a serial gateway. I updated my documentation yesterday on how I do it. You can find it on the same sub forum you posted this.

• Thank you for the reply!

I have not yet connected any sensors since I just recently found this website. I like the idea and have ordered parts, but it will be a while before they arrive. But yes, I am planning to connect all the sensors with the NRF24 radios.