Need help understanding Openhab, Battery powered sensors and arduino sketches .

• Hi ,

I'm pretty new to the whole electronic game and need some help understanding things a little .
    I've searched through the forum and a lot of it seems to be either based on an older Openhab or not very well explained for a noob such as myself .

So far I have an openhabian setup with presence detection (with the help of LEDE router ),an outlet I can control and a temp sensor I made using Mysensors which talks to an Ethernet gatewayon the raspberry pi I run Openhab on , so I'm not afraid of diving in the deep end and learning as I go.

However even though I got my temp sensor working and showing in Openhab I could do with some help understanding a few things.

1. I managed to automatically detect my sensor when I turned it on (which as a lot of the posts in the forum suggest wasn't always the way ) I created an item for the Thing detected and an entry in my sitemap and left everything as default . I can't seem to find an up to date guide how to configure things in Openhab.
      From what I've seen in the forum everyone just knows how to configure Mysensors in Openhab .

2. I just uploaded the example sketch for the temp sensor here and I currently have it being powered by 2 AA batteries my question is how to I combine the battery Arduino script with the Dallas temp script, I mean for one thing both scripts differ on sleep times for a start . I would like to learn how to send the battery percentage back to Openhab and I understand that I need to incorporate a calculation for the battery as 0% is not the same as an empty battery.

3)when I installed Arduino on my Debian laptop and added the Example libraries to the libraries folder it tells me at the bottom of the IDE invalid version found 1.04 , any ideas why it says this although it doesn't seem to cause any problems loading the sketch.