Arduino pro mini dead after flashing MYSbootloader.

• After flashing node with MySensors bootloader i can still flash the node with ftdi but sketch no longer runs. Tried it with blink sketch. Does uploading the bootloader alter the fuses? I dont know whats going on πŸ˜“

when plugged into my board the led on the arduino just stays on, when i pull the pro mini out of the board and reset (while connected to ftdi) it blinks in cycles of 3x slow and 4x fast. As soon as i insert it in the node it goes to steady on. I know the board is good because a board with factory bootloader runs the sketch just fine. Can someone shine a (led)lightπŸ˜‰ on this

When i flash the original bootloader again everything works as expected. What am i missing here?

• Mod

@jimmy-loyens maybe the size of the bootloaders is different and therefore requires different bootloader area configuration?
    The size is defined by fuses btw.

• @yveaux sorry but "huh?" 😲

This is my first time trying ota, before i knew about the existance of bootloaders but thats about it. Dont meen to offend you but could you elaborate a bit

• @jimmy-loyens ok found this: https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=70208.0

Now i only need to find out how big my bootloader is. I assume the size of the hex file.

• @jimmy-loyens Ok problem,
    My bootloader hex is 6Kb = 6000b = 3000 words

BOOTZ1|BOOTZ0
    11=>256words = 512b
    10=>512words = 1024b
    01=>1024words = 2048b
    00=>2048words = not enoughπŸ˜• πŸ˜”

Am i understanding this correct?

Choosing the largest bootzone combination (11) didn't help 😞

• I found this on the forum:
    "In the process of troubleshooting I found out that MYSBootloader needs to be compiled with the same channel settings as the gateway it connects to. "

I think this is most likely the problem since i'm currently using a test-network with channel 5. I'll try changing the channel in the bootloader source and recompiling it.

• Mod