What are these bad practices ?

• Hello,

I tried to compile the MySensors v2.11 library with a code which was compiling and running perfectly with Mysensors v1.42 and Arduino 1.6.5 IDE.
    I saw in this new library a lot of bad practices like including "cpp" files by the following ways (#include should only include header files) :

#include "core/MyHwESP8266.cpp"

or including directly relatives path in #include (pathes should be managed by make file) :

#include "drivers/AVR/DigitalWriteFast/digitalWriteFast.h"

I saw this too (wh'y don't declare directly the relevant type like: "const uint8_t NODE_SENSOR_ID=255" because 'C' casts are from the previous century, no ?)

#define NODE_SENSOR_ID			((uint8_t)255)

I would like to point out that I am a professional C ++ developer since about 20 years.
    I post this because i've got a LOT of errors trying compiling my code in the new library. I'd already wrote a post to expose my problem but nobody is able to understand what happens and I already spent a lot of hours trying to solve the problem.

As soon as I add a #include of custom header file, the compiler told me "multiple definition of" :

[https://forum.mysensors.org/topic/5928/compilation-problem-under-arduino-1-8-1](link url)

Maybe I'm wrong and sorry for the bad review but I'm so frustrated 😞
    If anyone could help...

• Admin

This bad practice (yes we are very well aware of it) is the only way we can allow users to control configuration and feature inclusion directly from the sketch.

Earlier we had all configuration in a separate file distributed with the library. But it was much harder to handle for newbies (which is a target group for this library). You had to edit this file between sketch compilations to get different features (like SOFT-SPI) enabled.

But the root cause is the Arduino IDEs crappy build system and this setup is (unfortunately) not uncommon.

May I ask why you want to include core files yourself?

• Hello,