Sensors won't connect to Gateway after adding Controller

• Hello,

I've posted this in the HA Forums too but hoping someone here might be able to help too

I am stuck setting up MySensors and if anyone could help me I would be very grateful. I am completely new to Arduino's and the syntax (and I'm not a programmer anyway!) so I am aware I'm on a steep learning curve here!

I have followed the tutorials to set up an Ethernet Gateway and a basic motion sensor. I then assigned static ID's to these as at this point I wasn't using a controller and I could get the two to talk successfully. I used the serial monitor to check both devices and when I wave my hand in front of the sensor I get the following:

Sensor:

42401 MCO:SLP:WUP=1
    42403 TSF:TRI:TSB
    42414 TSF:MSG:SEND,1-1-0-0,s=1,c=1,t=16,pt=0,l=1,sg=0,ft=0,st=OK:1
    42420 MCO:SLP:MS=120000,SMS=0,I1=1,M1=1,I2=255,M2=255
    42425 TSF:TDI:TSL
    42427 MCO:SLP:WUP=1
    42429 TSF:TRI:TSB
    42439 TSF:MSG:SEND,1-1-0-0,s=1,c=1,t=16,pt=0,l=1,sg=0,ft=0,st=OK:0
    42445 MCO:SLP:MS=120000,SMS=0,I1=1,M1=1,I2=255,M2=255
    42450 TSF:TDI:TSL

Gateway:

18749588 TSF:MSG:READ,1-1-0,s=1,c=1,t=16,pt=0,l=1,sg=0:1
    18752809 TSF:MSG:READ,1-1-0,s=1,c=1,t=16,pt=0,l=1,sg=0:0

If I've misinterpreted this then please let me know, but it appears to me that the 1 (motion) and 0 (reset) on both devices almost simultaneously would suggest that they are communicating.

I also set up a repeater and had communication between these, and could even pass the sensor data through it (we have thick walls so I took the sensor out of range and put the repeater in the middle).

At this point I was thinking, this is all pretty easy, just need to hook it up to HA and I'll be away! However, I cannot get it to work. My understanding is that the controller - HA in this case - hands out the ID's to the nodes and therefore I don't want to define these in the sketch. I believe I am also right in saying that the gateway always has an ID of 0.