Sensors on ethernet (ESP8266)

• I'm a complete noob that bought a Vera about a month ago. I've been playing with Arduinos for about 8 years but I'm still at noob level because my memory is extremely poor and I can't ever seem to memorize programming syntax or remember the details of anything I learned for very long.

What I'm trying to do is this: I want to make my own sensors that communicate with the Vera over ethernet. These can either be on an Arduino with ethernet/wifi transceiver or on an Adafruit feather Huzzah (ESP8266).

My question is how do I do this?

I read the tutorial about the ESP8266 on here but it seems to be aimed at using it to receive RFM69 data and then forward it onto your ethernet network. That's not what I'm trying to do here.

What I'm trying to do is directly read sensors (such as a DHT22) and then somehow send the readings to the Vera. I don't know how to do this.

Can anyone offer assistance?

• Contest Winner

@Marshall MySensors doesn't communicate over ethernet/WiFi. So if you're determined on using ethernet/Wifi as as your transport layer, MySensors isn't the right choice.

But you should check out all of the great projects build by the community members. And maybe it convinces you to start using MySensors. Going the MySensors way makes things really easy, because MySensors handles a lot of things for you. Things you'd otherwise have to program yourself.

• @TheoL said:

Going the MySensors way makes things really easy, because MySensors handles a lot of things for you. Things you'd otherwise have to program yourself.

I like easy. And I'm really bad at programming.

I have a couple of Arduinos and some RFM69 transceivers. Also, I guess it should be easy to make a RFM69/Ethernet gateway since I can attach a RFM69 to my ESP8266.

What is the easiest way to get started adding sensors?

• Contest Winner

@Marshall The most easiest way is: