Which magnetic door/window switch for battery powered projects?

• Hi,
    I am new to MySensors and planning to build battery powered window/door sensors based on a "raw" ATMEGA328P with 2xAA batteries.

I am opting for the usual, cheap white Ali door switches (e.g. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32255861885.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.29ec3a95TEE6We&algo_pvid=48234541-eff1-4f39-96ee-284b1da18796&algo_expid=48234541-eff1-4f39-96ee-284b1da18796-1&btsid=2100bde316181377232332753e08a1&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_).

But the thing confusing me is the "Normally Closed"/NC and "normally open" /NO.

In my understanding NC means that the circuit is closed = current can flow. So for a battery project I think it is best to use NO switches, which only connect when the door/window is opened and therefore wake up the sensor to send a message.

But, NO switches seem to be hard to come by at Ali.

Am I missing something or do I misunderstand something? What would be the best setup for a battery powered project?

• If you put a large resistor (>100K) between the pin you want to use for sensing and Vcc (battery voltage) then link one of the wires of the sensor to gnd and the other wire to the sense pin the circuit can then check for a change.

So if the window is shut then the sense pin will be Vcc if it’s open then it will be 0V

I hope that helps

• @maddhin You need to look for "changeover reed relay" - they are cheap and allow you to reverse the logic in the door/window sketch and get a much longer battery life.

I connect a 5.6Mohm from input pin to ground and then via the relay contacts that are OPEN when in magnetic field to VCC (3V).
    This way the input is always at ground until the door/window opens and then only a small current flows into the input and via that big resistance to ground.

These relays are glass and can be fragile, so handle with care and make something to put them in to protect them.