SmartThings plugin

• I'm new to the site so this information may be somewhere here but I didn't see it.

I have a SmartThings v2 hub/controller and have been pretty happy with it so far but have mostly just used it with devices I've bought. Just recently decided to use my prewired security contact sensors as part a home security project and I'm using an Arduino Mega 2560. When I realized how easy it was to build some of my own devices I ran across this site and I want to build more.

I'm a software engineer so was wondering if there are some examples of controller plugins that others have wrote for other controller or if that are specs so that one could be built for SmartThings. Anyone have some good examples that I could look at?

• Admin

Hi and welcome @eframe,

There's a really simplistic controller implementation available on github that you can have a look at here:

https://github.com/mysensors/MySensorsSampleController

Also, most of the supported controllers is open source projects and their respective plugin is available as open source.

Let us know if you need more pointers to get started.

• Maybe I didn't ask the right question or don't understand the answer or possibly both 😊. I would like to figure out how to use MySenors with SmartThings. The link, if I understand what it is, is a link to a custom controller. Isn't that what SmartThings is, a controller? How do I get the gateway to talk to SmartThings? I was thinking some sort of plugin/integration would need to be written? So I might be confused and not asking the right thing.

• Admin

Yes, you would have to write a SmartThings plugin which talks to a MySensors gateway either over a serial or ethernet connection. The protocol is simple and described here.

The example "controller" I posted above is an example of how to talk to the gateway.