"Check Wires!!!" - N00B needs some help (please)

• Hi there everyone.

Firstly - Thank you for taking the time to read this and potentially offer me some guidance..

Secondly - I am a newb when it comes to MySensors - I think this is a great project and I look forward to assisting the community with this project in the future.

**My Problem
    I've (Almost) successfully managed to build an MQTT Gateway ( I had it "Started!" and managed to ping the IP and connect to it with OpenHAB for about 30 minutes, now it wont start again, but thats not my current problem. ).. Once I managed success with the Gateway, I moved on to building a sensor....

No matter what configuration I try I ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS get the message "check wires".. I've tried many things including:

• Different wireless modules ( I have 3, and I've even tried the one thats currently working on the gateway ).
    • Different pin-out configurations
    • Enabled / Disabled SOFTSPI ( Currently Enabled in my IDE Libs)
    • Checked the pinouts 100 times and even re-did them from scratch at least 3 times...
    • Enabled / Disabled SOFTSPI

Essentially, I am at a loss of what to do next.

• I have enabled SOFTSPI, is there anything special I need to do with regards to enabling/using it with the sensors?
    • I have all the latest Libs from MySense
    • Is there extended Debug I can enable?

Environment:

Arduino: Arduino Nano V3
    Controller: MQTT by OenHab
    Senesor: Distance sensor

• Admin

which ethernet module?
    It worked for 30 minutes you say... Sure you didn't overfeed eth or radio? Might take a while until it fries..

You should only need softspi with something like the ethernet gateway as described here: http://www.mysensors.org/build/ethernet_gateway#wiring-things-up

It requires different radio connections in this case so as not to interfere with the ethernet module.