Future(s) of home automation (networks)

• I am an old electronic engineer. I started programming of micro-controllers (better to say micro processors) in the 1970/80s with simple hex-terminals and two line displays at an Intel 8080 and 8085 or Zilog Z80. My big jump was an Apple 2e with Z80 Softcard and CPM (from a rather small US company called Microsoft). My first big task was to integrate the (very modern !) TEAC drives with 640 kBytes into CPM, instead of the Apple drives with 146 kBytes. Microsoft had sent the sources of CPM to help. My "office software" was WordStar. I programmed new printer drivers to make the changing of different printwheels possible when printing my dissertation. I defined colon-commands for WordStar to synchronize printing and printer handling. There was only space of 256 bytes for custom drivers. Of course, they had to be developed with a macro assembler. Often used branches to the same destination I replaced by preloading the stack (once) and jumping via return (several times), winning two bytes for every jump. And the technical equipment was expensive. I remember the cost of 10.000 DM (2 DM = 1 €) for a 1 MB memory extension of a VAX 750 (our mainframe computer at the institute I worked with).

Times have changed a lot. Sometimes I imagine to have a time machine, taking a modern USB-stick with 128 GB and reading speed of 400 MB/s, and jumping to the past to discuss technology development with my old friends. At that time, the technical features of today were not thinkable. 128 GB in a thimble and 400 MB/s transfer speed would have been so believable like interstellar spaceship jumps to the next galaxy.