New to MySensors

• Hello, I am new to Mysensors and pretty much the whole IOT world. I am an electronics student in college, and I've been trying to get hands on with real life projects and applications. I'm working with an older cousin of mine he loves to tinker with these things, and is really dedicated to open source. We managed to flash one Sonoff with tasmota using Usb to TTL serial converter CP2012, and can't get any others to transmit. Wanted to test with Home Assistant on Pi 3. You can also see that I broke a button lol. Any ideas to fix that? Last thing if anyone lives remotely close to central CT and wants to discuss projects and help each other along. We'd gladly buy lunch.
    1_1526075845717_0505181657a.jpg 0_1526075845716_0509181851.jpg

• @joshwizzard Welcome to MySensors. If you have questions, there is a GREAT team of people on this forum that can help with nearly any issue you have related to home automation.

I have a number of Sonoff devices in play in my automation setup, but I have never used Tasmota though, and nor have I used Home Assistant. Mine use ESP Easy firmware and I use it with my Vera home controller. I wrote a BLOG post article on how to set it up for a Vera. https://dan.bemowski.info/2017/07/04/using-a-sonoff-with-espeasy-and-vera/ Maybe you can get some information from it.

As for the button, looks like you'll be replacing that or living without it. It is not crucial that you have it outside of the fact that it helps for programming it.

• Mod

@joshwizzard look for debug output over serial console, that helps understand what it is doing (if you flashed it successfully). For the first time I usually suggest to use the precompiled bin file and upload it with any flash tool for esp8266

• I found this https://github.com/arendst/Sonoff-Tasmota/wiki/Sonoff-Basic#serial-connection
    They added a wire right to the chip. Does anyone do this, or has anyone tried this before?

• Mod