💬 MyQTherm - replace IQTherm heating thermostat

• Hi, I saw this project today.... It is like I wrote it myself. I also have IQTherm on my radiators and it was also my goal to replace them with something. I started thinking about it and experimenting with the triac a year ago, but I had to shift focus to something completely different and my project became dormant. Now I am about to start it up again.
    How far have you come with your project?
    My initial thought was to turn the triac into a mysensor enabled relay and have the temperature sensor in a separate module and let them communicate over the mysensor network.
    The triac is as you say 240/400 Volt and quite limited space. I tried to squeeze in a arduino but ofcourse it cannot fit safely. I started drawing a smaller pcb that would custom fit the triac, but I ran into some problems and the I had to stop the project... My thought was to control the optocoupler chip from the arduino and take the power from the dirty 12VDC available in the triac.
    Please share your thoughts if you have gotten any further /Magnus

• @magnus-pernemark Hello Magnus! Sorry, I did not see your comment until just now. I did pause my project for nearly a year. But now I'm am taking it up again.
    I had some PCBs manufactured and now I'm testing them. I will soon update with pictures and more info.
    Currently one node is connected to the triac in a room and controlling the heating. It is actually working! The next step is to put the node in a case and make a cable with a DS18B temp sensor in one end. I will attach the node to the outside of the triac (TR/P) and place the temperature probe at a distance from the radiator.
    The sketch I have now is reporting the temperature, % power, error status to the gateway. I use Domoticz as controller to present the data and to set the temperature in the room.
    It would be nice to exchange ideas with you concerning replacing IQTherm.