Debug to a sd-card module?

• Hardware Contributor

Hi!

I have an idea i want to run by you guys before starting up.

I have sometimes random dropouts from my Nrf network - and i guess thats part of DIY. The node isnt fully tested and maybe behaves differently when the voltage drops, some hardware fails or the radio is re-oriented which causes bad reception...

My problem is, I want to know what happens and make my nodes more stable but removing the node from its position doesnt make the debug realistic.

My thought was to develop a second node, which have a sd-card module and writes the MySensors serial output to a sd-card. Is this possible? Am i re-inventing something here or making it to difficult?

I liked the idea @AWI had about remote debugging with V_TEXT but my major issues is the radio communication and I dont know it this is because bad hardware or the radio behaves worse when voltage drops.

Any ideas is appreciated.

• Admin

It should be possible, with a couple of hacks to the core. I don't know if the atmega328 have enough program space for it though.

(the Sensebender GW have a SDCard interface directly on the board ;) )

• Hardware Contributor

@tbowmo Thanks!
    To be clear, im talking about a second module/node which is removable and attachable to all other nodes with ftdi header. It would not have to include MySensors library/code if thats a problem with space.

More of a clean arduino serial logger... attachable to all nodes which behaves bad (and have debug defined offcourse).

• Mod

Great idea.

Creating a non-Mysensors "log node" that listens on serial and logs everything to sd card should be fairly easy. With serial debug on on the troublesome node, all that needs to be done is to connect the log node to the serial port of the troublesome node.