Raspberry Pi Ethernet Gateway with local sensors

• Hi I’m new to MySensors and have some questions about a setup I want to make. I already have Domocticz running on a raspberry pi for the control of my lights and gas/power usage monitoring. Now I want to a MySensor that is monitoring the water level in our water tank. There is already a nice MySensors project done to measure this.

https://forum.mysensors.org/topic/6216/round-water-tank-level-sensor

Only the setup usage a wireless connection to send the node information as are most of the projects. I want to use an old raspberry that I have and use it as gateway to connect to Domoticz which is gone be the controller. As sensor I use a Arduino nano and ultrasonic dept sensor, that I got working. But I want to connect de sensor/Arduino to the raspberry pi gateway by cable, let say a serial connection on the gpio.
    I found some topics that are saying you can add sensors directly to the gateway with MySensors library 2.0 but no further explanation are examples.
    What do I have so far:

• Domoticz controller that is looking for a MySensors Gateway with Lan interface on IP bases.
    • Raspberry Pi with MySensors software probably not configured right.
    • Arduino Sensor with the wrong connection parameters.

I want to now how to start the MySensors configuration on the raspberry pi gateway. I used:
    ./configure --my-gateway=ethernet --my-controller-ip-address=192.168.2.150
    make

I think i’m missing something.

Then there is the sensor. In the project the connection is through MY_RADIO_RF24 and I want to use a serial connection how can I modify the Arduino code so it connects with the gateway?

Maybe It’s all very simple but I’m not getting there. Who can help me to get in the right direction.

• @jvdk I don't use a raspberry pi, but searching on this forum I found this topic : https://forum.mysensors.org/topic/11315/raspberry-pi-zero-gateway-with-local-sensor