MYSBootloader for atmega168

• Hi, I'm still relatively new to MySensors however it has successfully 100% consumed me for the past few weeks and I'm unsure now how I managed to miss such an amazing project and community until now!! This is my first post so please be gentle!

I have done quite a lot of searching and I don't think I've found this topic discussed before but apologies if I just missed it.

I am aware that atmega168 is considered by many to be of limited use to MySensors due to the limited flash, but unfortunately I accidentally ordered a batch of 168 based pro minis recently, waited ~5 weeks(!) for them to arrive and these are now the majority of what I have spare to use. Due to COVID19 it's becoming much slower and more expensive to source parts like this 😢 so I'm making do with what I have....

I've am now actually having good success with the 168 and MySensors - it's certainly forced me to hone my skills in space optimisation but that's a good thing anyway...

I have successfully set up FOTA using the one spare atmega328 pro mini I had left and it's given me a taste of how amazing it is.... so I turned my attention to the 168.

I have succeeded in modifying/building/flashing the MYSBootloader for the 168, it registers against MyController and I can assign a firmware upgrade! 😄 This unfortunately is where I've run into the current roadblock. The node apparently begins to download the firmware but I suspect it's failing to write the first block. I guess mostly likely this is because the flash layout on the 168 is unavoidably different and this is tripping up the process of writing the data to flash. I've trawled the code for some hours trying to digest it and figure out what could be wrong but without any feedback from the node to give me clues I'm running out of steam...