Is MQTT Necessary? or, Use Case for MQTT?

• Hello Everyone!

I have been reading and reading, and I think I have now achieved the level of "knows just enough to be dangerous." 🙂

There is one thing however that, as a beginner, I haven't been able to get my head around yet. I figured other beginners may also stumble upon the same issue, so I thought I would make this post.

I see a lot of forum posts and information about MQTT, but it seems to me that the better way to connect your gateway to your controller would be just straight serial via USB.

My understanding is that MQTT is a TCP/IP based protocol, which in my mind adds another entirely unnecessary layer to the equation, especially when we are talking about what might (in some cases) be a slightly underpowered gateway device (Arduino Nano) to start with?

So, I suppose these are the questions I have:

1.Does MQTT add some sort of better acknowledgement or traffic control than the MySensors library? I thought that traffic control was already included in the MySensors library (perhaps I am conflating the two)?

2.Is MQTT just "easier" to implement with certain controllers (OpenHab for instance) than straight serial protocol / MySensors library? And/or, does it work better/easier with perhaps more/other devices/controllers on the greater home / automation network? Does MQTT perhaps act as a sort of "glue" to hold everything together across protocols?

3.Or is MQTT only used to make the bridge between controller and gateway (and particularly in cases where they might be physically separated)?

If this is the use case, then maybe this is starting to make sense to me.