💬 Sensebender Micro mk2

• Hello, tbowmo
    I'm new to mysensors and home automation and this board is exactly what I was looking for, great job !
    Have you received prototypes? Do you plan to sell it ?
    And what about using SAML instead of SAMD for ULP nodes? Would it be supported by Mysensors?
    Thank you for sharing!

• "Temperature / Humidity sensor Si7021" is listed as an enhancement but the mk1 had the same sensor correct?

• Admin

@beaugunderson

Right, my mistake.. :) both flash and si7021 is borrowed from mk1..

@Ptibu
    I haven't ordered any prototype pcb yet. I'm trying to keep prices down, and SAML is still pretty expensive, compared to SAMD.

• @tbowmo
    Another big advantage of the SAML over the SAMD is the embedded AES core. It would allow strong crypto for both comm & data encryption (at MCU level, not radio) and authentication (ex: AES based CMAC). In this case, the ATSHA is not needed anymore for auth but it will break compatibility with existing ATSHA based boards (unless implementing SHA256 in SW).
    For what I can see, cost for SAML is about the same than SAMD + ATSHA (+/- 0.5€).

For new (secured) mysensors networks, SAML would have nice advantages with comparable price (+dev efforts of course).

• Hardware Contributor

@Ptibu
    I'm also using some custom atsamd boards on my side. I looked a while ago at SAML. They have some some common points, but if i remember SAML datasheet, it's not completely the same, especially for low power modes, additional features etc.. Is SAML Arduino compatible now? i'm just curious, i don't really need it as there are already so much other great mcu or complete module :)

• Is there any site where you can upload the pcb+bom and have all the components (maybe not radio and pinheaders) soldered before they send the pcb?

• @scalz said:

Is SAML Arduino compatible now?

Not yet. but it is WIP
    https://github.com/arduino/arduino-builder/issues/176#issuecomment-269110984

@Cliff-Karlsson said: